ToekomsVonk’s Afrikaans Art and Creative Writing Competition, WINNERS for Primary Schools announced.

ToekomsVonk’s Afrikaans Art and Creative Writing Competition, WINNERS for Primary Schools announced.

On 17 October 2019, ToekomsVonk held a function the Liedjietuin, at the Voortrekkermonument in Pretoria. The organisation celebrated their second birthday by announcing the winners of their 2019 Afrikaans Art and Creative Writing competition for Primary Schools. The competition was launched earlier in the year and was the second phase of their “Vonk jou Taal” project for promoting Afrikaans under the youth. In 2018, I similar competition was held for high school learners.

There were two categories for children to take part in, art or poetry. The learners were further divided into three age groups, namely Gr 1 – 3, Gr 4 – 6 and Gr 7. The theme of this year’s competition was proverbs and the children had a choice between the following proverbs:

  • “Husse met lang ore
  • Alle grappies op ‘n stokkie
  • Die aap uit die mou laat
  • Heuning om die mond smeer
  • Iepekonders hê”

More than 500 poems and 300 sketches were received from primary schools.

The winners were announced by two of ToekomsVonk’s directors, Amor Gerber and Steve Hofmeyr. ToekomsVonk would like to thank each child who send in an entry. Special thanks also to the teachers and parents who encouraged these children to take park. We are very proud of these children!

The artwork and poems of the winners are available on ToekomsVonk’s website:


GR 1- 3GradeAgeSchool
1Marilize Claassens38Wolkberg Akademie
2Luca Pienaar17Protea Park
3Errin van Heerden38Garsfontein
GR 4-6GradeAgeSchool
1Lucy Erasmus612Brits Laerskool
2Mila Nel612Protea Park
3Juwan van Staden511Pretoria Oos
GR 7GradeAgeSchool
1Kyle Viljoen712Protea Park
2Ian van Brakel713Protea Park
3Chandler White713Protea Park
GR 1- 3GradeAgeSchool
1Heidi Venter28Pretoria Oos
2Luka Strydom39Pretoria Oos
3Dries Pretorius17CVO Vryburg
GR 4-6GradeAgeSchool
1Annika Kloppers511Tygerpoort
2Amanda Strydom511Pta Oos
3Mignon Blanche511Tygerpoort
GR 7GradeAgeSchool
1Jeanri Richter713Tygerpoort
2Ivan Thomas Olivier713Tygerpoort
3Stesha Behr713Tygerpoort

Klein 1.jpgklein 2.jpgklein 4.jpg

Source link